All Collections
Ecamm Live: Troubleshooting
General
Screenshare Mode Shows Only The Desktop Picture
Screenshare Mode Shows Only The Desktop Picture

Ecamm Live needs permission to share your screen.

Glen Aspeslagh avatar
Written by Glen Aspeslagh
Updated over a week ago

Ecamm Live needs special permission to share your screen. Without this permission, Screenshare mode will only display your Desktop picture, regardless of what you've chosen to share.

When activating Screenshare mode for  the first time, Ecamm Live should have asked for this permission. On macOS Monterey and below, you will see this message.

On macOS Ventura, it may look like this:

To change this permission at any time: 

Instructions for macOS Ventura

  1. Open the System Settings app, in the Apple menu.

  2. Scroll down to the Privacy & Security section and click on it.

  3. Scroll down to the Screen Recording section and click on it.

  4. Toggle the switch on for Ecamm Live.

  5. You may be prompted enter your Mac's admin password.

  6. PRO TIP: Upon enabling Screen Record for Ecamm Live, you'll get a message prompting you to quit Ecamm Live for changes to take effect. Click the Later button, as there isn't actually any need to quit Ecamm Live. You should see the screen sharing begin immediately in Ecamm Live.

Instructions for macOS Monterey and below

  1. Open the Security & Privacy section of the System Preferences app.

  2. Pick the Privacy tab.

  3. Scroll down to the Screen Recording section in the left-hand sidebar.

  4. Click  the orange padlock to make changes, and enter your Mac's admin password when prompted.  

  5. Check the checkbox for Ecamm Live.

  6. PRO TIP: Upon checking the checkbox, you'll get a message prompting you to quit Ecamm Live for changes to take effect. Click the Later button, as there isn't actually any need to quit Ecamm Live. You should see the screen sharing begin immediately in Ecamm Live

Did this answer your question?