Skip to main content

Ecamm Preview Mode

Getting started with preview mode

Need to make a change while you’re live? Ecamm's Preview Mode lets you do just that. With Preview, you get full control to make any changes you need while you’re live without your audience seeing a thing.

This may not be a feature that you'll use every time you're live, but it certainly will come in handy if you need to glance quickly at what's in a future scene, add in a surprise guest, or edit a typo in a text overlay.

How to Use Preview Mode

While streaming or recording, click Preview in the Main Window. A green indicator marks the view you’re preparing.

A Program window will show up, to show what your audience sees.

Make your visual changes in Preview, then click Publish when you’re ready for your audience to see them. This is useful for checking a Scene, fixing a title, or adjusting a camera layout during your show.

When Preview is on a different Scene from Program, a red outline in the Scenes window identifies the Scene your audience is currently seeing. This helps you keep track of Program while preparing another Scene in Preview.

Click Back to Live Mode when you’re finished. If you have unpublished changes, Ecamm follows your When Returning To Live Mode With Unpublished Changes setting in General Preferences.

Pro tip: if you have a second monitor, you can move the Program window to that monitor so that you can have a confidence monitor and have an eye on the broadcast while you're making changes in your Preview window.

Did this answer your question?