Broadcasting to YouTube starts in the Destination menu, in the bottom right of the Main Window. Select YouTube. A  Login button will appear at the bottom of the Main Window.

If you’ve never logged into YouTube with Ecamm Live, click Login now, and follow through the prompts.

If you haven’t broadcasted live to your YouTube account previously, you’ll need to enable the option by visiting your Live Dashboard first. Otherwise, you’ll see a message to do so.

If you’re still receiving this message after enabling live streaming on YouTube, ensure that you have enabled it for the correct YouTube channel. (Ecamm Live and your web browser may looking at a different YouTube channel.) To switch to a different YouTube channel in Ecamm Live, log out of YouTube, and then log back in. You’ll see a screen to select a channel during the login process.

Once you’re logged in, you can begin a live broadcast immediately by clicking Go Live, but there are a couple of options you’ll want to check out first.

YouTube Live Broadcast Options

YouTube settings can be found in the YouTube section of Ecamm Live’s Preferences. To access Preferences, click the gear button near the top right corner of Ecamm Live’s main window.

Category

YouTube assigns a category to its live broadcasts.

Stream Latency

Adjusting stream latency will change the time it takes for your stream to become visible to viewers. However lower latency settings are more subject to buffering if there is a slowdown or an interruption in internet upload speed. Ultra-low latency mode is not compatible with stream sizes higher than 1080.

Made For Kids

YouTube requires broadcasters to indicate whether or not a broadcast is Made For Kids. Note that if your YouTube channel is set to Made for Kids, this checkbox will be pre-selected.

Privacy

Under the Destination menu, you have two options to set.

Broadcast to ➝ Public, Unlisted, Private.

  • Public will create a video that shows on your channel.
  • Unlisted will create a video that is available only if the viewer has a direct link to the broadcast. It will be otherwise unfindable to the public.
  • Private will create a video that is only available to you.

Scheduling

Now (Unscheduled) will begin your live broadcast as a new live event without a prior announcement.

New Scheduled Live… will allow you to set a date and time for a live broadcast event, as well as create a title, description and thumbnail image.

Going Live Now

If you select Go Live ➝ Now (Unscheduled), give your broadcast a title and description by filling in the title and description fields in the lower left corner of the Main Window.

To go live, click Go Live.

Creating a New Scheduled Live

If you want to announce a broadcast ahead of time, select Go Live ➝ New Scheduled Live…. An editor appears to allow you to set a date and time for a live broadcast, as well as create a title and description. You can also add an image to your announcement by dragging an image file onto the thumbnail area on the right side of the post editor. Complete the process by clicking Schedule.

Once you have scheduled a Live broadcast, any pending broadcasts are listed in the Go Live menu. When a pending broadcast is selected there, in the bottom center area of the Main Window, you’ll now see a countdown timer, which lists the time left until you go live, and a View Post button. Click the View Post button or the pencil icon button to view or edit the post details on YouTube. It will open in your web browser. To visit the event’s YouTube Studio Room page, click the controls button beside the pencil button. Also, there’s a  trash button for cancelling the scheduled broadcast.

Starting Early

Once the countdown reaches 20 minutes, the countdown button will turn blue, indicating that early start is available. Click the countdown to start the broadcast before the scheduled time.

Starting On Time

Once the countdown reaches zero, the countdown will change to a Go Live Nowbutton. Click the button to begin your broadcast.

View Live Chat Messages and Reactions

During broadcasts, any YouTube live chat messages and likes your audience adds to your live broadcast will be displayed in the Comments and Reactions window. Additionally, at the top of the Main Window we’ll display a live count of viewers, visible only to you.

Display Comments on Your Broadcast

If you would like to share your viewers’ comments with the audience, you can add individual comments to the broadcast by dragging them from the Comments and Reactions window to the Main Window, or clicking Add to Broadcast under any comment. The comment will become a styled Text Overlay. Read more about your options in the Overlays article.

Ending a YouTube Live Broadcast

Click Finish or type ⌘E to end the broadcast.

Post-broadcast options

After clicking Finish we’ll present you with a message confirming your broadcast has ended, and offer options for your next steps.

On YouTube, your Live broadcast is now a video on your channel.

View Post - click to reveal the YouTube video in your default web browser.

Delete Post - click to remove the video from YouTube. We’ll double-check with you before we destroy it, as there is no undo.

Show File - Ecamm Live automatically creates a local recording of your broadcast. Click this to reveal the video file in the Mac’s Finder.

Logging out of YouTube

Ecamm Live will stay logged into YouTube unless you manually log out.

If you’d like to log out of YouTube, with YouTube selected in the Destination menu, go to the Ecamm Live menu at the top of your display, and select Log Out YouTube.

Next article: Broadcasting to Other Platforms (Periscope and Twitch)

Did this answer your question?